Companies as political actors - a new challenge for communicators?

Corporate social responsibilitybrand purpose and now: brand activism. Another one of those English buzzwords that only a few people really know what to do with. Here's an attempt at a little explanation for the vocabulary book: Brand activism is the term we use to describe actions in which companies actively communicate their opinions on socially relevant issues to the outside world.

In other words, companies take a stand in the socio-political discourse - and often receive a lot of praise for doing so.

Best practices on the doorstep

Brand activism is not a new hype from the marketing world. Since the 1960s, companies have been venturing out of their comfort zone in the area of corporate communications. Both internally and externally, they consciously take a stance on issues that primarily have little in common with the actual purpose of the company.

More recent examples are provided by companies that are located right under our noses at our Hamburg site. The lemonade manufacturer Fritz Kola, for example. Managing Director Mirco Wolf Wiegert explains on the company's own website what is particularly important to him: "Opening your mouth and taking a stance." And the Hamburg-based company proves this in numerous campaigns, for example at the G20 summit in Hamburg or during the U.S. presidential elections.

At local competitor LemonAid & ChariTea e.V., the idea of non-profit is already in their name. Last year, the beverage company engaged in a public dispute with Julia Klöckner over minimum sugar levels in sodas. The debate about sugar guidelines became a major topic in the media, not only because of the"sugar doll"- a figure of Klöckner made of sugar, set up in front of the ministry.

The fact that there are not always exclusively supporters of these actions is shown by reactions to the current"Attention, low sugar"campaign. LemonAid is currently labeling its bottles with stickers in the style of cigarette warnings. In trade and industry associations, this message is seen as nothing more than self-profiling. So has LemonAid gone too far with its actionism?

Some say this, others say that....

Brand Activism is not about pleasing everyone. Rather, controversy is deliberately sought out, often through polarizing messages. In the process, other opinions must be endured and the consequences accepted, for example in the form of boycotts.But why should a company take the risk of scaring away potential target groups?

For consumers, values and attitudes are a growing factor in the purchase of products. Focusing solely on product aspects in marketing and corporate communications will no longer help a company win against the competition. Instead, stakeholders are looking for meaning and authenticity. This must be taken into account as part of comprehensive reputation and stakeholder management. In Germany, for example, 82 percent of consumers expect brands to act as a moral compass for society in the Corona crisis.

The Edelman Trust Barometer of recent years even shows that more and more people recognize the potential for companies to solve socially critical problems. 87 percent of the population therefore want companies to address social issues. Communicating political attitudes can consequently become a real opportunity to meet these expectations and thus strengthen loyalty and reputation.

Taking a stance, but how?

If you are now wondering what the potential topics for taking action might be, all you need to do is take a look at the newspaper. Ex-Siemens CEO Joe Kaeser has perfected this strategy. On Twitter, he reviews world events relating to sea rescue, Donald Trump and the AfD.

It gets more difficult when the question of "how" comes up: How can a sensitive, highly emotional social problem become a corporate issue? What is the right position for my company? What tone of voice is appropriate? And how can you be prepared for the reactions? Here are a few ways to think about it:

  1. Relevance: companies need to address the issues that are critical to both internal and external stakeholders. The big buzzwords here are: Trend monitoring and dialogue management.
  2. Credibility: when companies address issues, the message must fit the company's personality and corporate values. Loud and polarizing messages are more likely to be suitable for already outspoken and colorful corporate brands. Conventional, traditional companies should look for their own ways to take a stand.
  3. Integrality: brand activism intersects with almost all communicative disciplines, which are still divided into different departments, especially within larger companies. To send credible messages, everyone must be pulling on the same string, telling the same story.
  4. Risks: reactions to the message are going to follow. But will they be more positive or negative? Or will a heated discussion spark right away? In terms of comprehensive crisis prevention , companies should analyze all possible scenarios in advance and prepare for them in terms of content and structure in order to be able to react in a flexible way.
  5. Relevance: although everything should be well thought out and prepared, momentum should not be missing. Social media debates in particular are quickly yesterday's news. In this day and age, stakeholders expect communicators to be up to date.

Companies should be aware of one thing: Those who pursue brand activism for the management of their own corporate brand consciously decide to steer into troubled waters and make big waves. To do this, they need a functioning compass that is aligned with their own corporate values in order to stay on course in the turbulent waters between new events and opinions.

Either way, communicators will have to adapt to increasingly difficult situations in the future. But the effort seems worthwhile - companies can make a real difference by taking a stand.

Contact us!

Please send us an e-mail and we will get back to you as soon as possible!

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
en_GBEnglish (UK)
de_DEDeutsch en_GBEnglish (UK)

Unternehmen als politische Akteure – eine neue Herausforderung für Kommunikator*innen?

Corporate Social Responsibility, Brand Purpose und jetzt das: Brand Activism. Wieder eines dieser englischen Buzzwords, mit denen wenige Menschen so richtig etwas anfangen können. Hier der Versuch einer kleinen Erklärung fürs Vokabelheft: Als Brand Activism oder auch Markenaktivismus bezeichnen wir Handlungen, in denen Unternehmen ihre Meinung zu gesellschaftlich relevanten Fragen aktiv nach außen kommunizieren.

Unternehmen zeigen also Flagge im gesellschaftspolitischen Diskurs – und ernten dafür nicht selten viel Applaus.

Best Practices vor der Haustür

Brand Activism ist dabei kein neuer Hype aus Marketingkreisen. Seit den 1960ern tauchen immer wieder Unternehmen auf, die sich im Rahmen der eigenen Unternehmenskommunikation aus ihrer Komfortzone wagen. Sie zeigen intern wie extern bewusst Haltung zu Themen, die in erster Linie wenig mit dem eigentlichen Unternehmenszweck gemein haben.

Aktuellere Beispiele liefern Unternehmen, die direkt vor unserer Nase an unserem Hamburger Standort sitzen. Der Limonaden-Hersteller Fritz Kola zum Beispiel. Geschäftsführer Mirco Wolf Wiegert erklärt auf der hauseigenen Website, was ihm besonders wichtig ist: „Mund aufmachen und Haltung zeigen.“ Und das beweisen die Hamburger in zahlreichen Kampagnen, zum Beispiel beim G20 Gipfel in Hamburg oder zu den US-Präsidentschaftswahlen.

Beim ortsansässigen Wettbewerber LemonAid & ChariTea e.V. steckt die Idee von der Gemeinnützigkeit schon im Namen. Die Getränkefirma lieferte sich letztes Jahr einen öffentlichen Streit mit Julia Klöckner um Mindestmengen an Zuckergehalt in Limonaden. Die Debatte um Zuckerrichtlinien wurde nicht zuletzt durch die „Zuckerpuppe“ – einer Figur Klöckners aus Zucker, aufgestellt vor dem Ministerium – ein großes Thema in den Medien.

Dass es dabei nicht immer nur Befürworter*innen dieser Aktionen gibt, zeigen Reaktionen auf die aktuelle Kampagne „Achtung, wenig Zucker“. LemonAid kennzeichnet seine Flaschen derzeit mit Aufklebern im Stil von Zigaretten-Warnhinweisen. In Wirtschaftsfachverbänden wird diese Botschaft nur noch als Selbstprofilierung gewertet. Hat es LemonAid also zu weit getrieben mit seinem Aktionismus?

Die einen sagen so, die anderen so…

Bei Brand Activism geht es nicht darum, jedem zu gefallen. Vielmehr werden durch teils polarisierende Botschaften bewusst Kontroversen gesucht. Dabei müssen auch andere Meinungen ausgehalten sowie die Konsequenzen akzeptiert werden, beispielsweise in Form von Boykotts. Doch warum sollte ein Unternehmen das Risiko eingehen, mögliche Zielgruppen zu verscheuchen?

Für Konsument*innen sind Werte und Haltungen ein wachsender Faktor beim Kauf von Produkten. Sich im Rahmen von Marketing und Unternehmenskommunikation allein auf Produktaspekte zu fokussieren, wird einem Unternehmen nicht mehr zum Wettbewerbssieg verhelfen. Vielmehr suchen Anspruchsgruppen nach Sinnstiftung und Authentizität. Das gilt es im übergreifenden Reputations- und Stakeholdermanagement zu berücksichtigen. Hierzulande erwarten beispielsweise 82 Prozent der Verbraucher*innen, dass Marken in der Corona-Krise als moralischer Kompass für die Gesellschaft agieren.

Das Edelman Trust Barometer der vergangenen Jahre zeigt sogar, dass immer mehr Menschen das Potenzial erkennen, dass Unternehmen gesellschaftskritische Probleme lösen. 87 Prozent der Bevölkerung wünschen sich daher, dass Unternehmen gesellschaftliche Themen adressieren. Die Vermittlung politischer Haltungen kann somit zu einer echten Chance werden, diesen Erwartungen nachzukommen und so Loyalität und Reputation zu stärken.

Haltung zeigen, aber wie?

Wer sich jetzt fragt, was potenzielle Themen sein können, um aktiv zu werden, dem genügt ein Blick in die Zeitung. Ex-Siemens-Chef Joe Kaeser hat diese Strategie perfektioniert. Auf Twitter rezensiert er das Weltgeschehen rund um Seenotrettung, Donald Trump und die AfD.

Schwieriger wird es dann schon, wenn die Frage nach dem Wie aufkommt:  Wie kann ein sensibles, hochemotionales gesellschaftliches Problem zum Unternehmensthema werden? Welche Position ist die richtige für mein Unternehmen? Welche Tonalität passt dazu? Und wie kann sich auf die Reaktionen vorbereitet werden? Hier ein paar Denkhilfen:

  1. Relevanz: Unternehmen müssen die Themen ansprechen, die sowohl für interne als auch externe Anspruchsgruppen entscheidend sind. Die großen Stichwörter sind hier: Trendmonitoring und Dialogführung.
  2. Glaubwürdigkeit: Wenn Unternehmen Themen aufgreifen, muss die Botschaft zur Unternehmenspersönlichkeit und den Corporate Values passen. Laute und polarisierende Botschaften sind eher etwas für ohnehin schon laute und bunte Corporate Brands. Konventionelle Traditionsunternehmen sollten nach eigenen Wegen suchen, Position zu beziehen.
  3. Ganzheitlichkeit: Brand Activism weist Schnittstellen zu nahezu allen kommunikativen Disziplinen auf, die gerade in großen Unternehmen immer noch in verschiedene Abteilungen aufgeteilt sind. Um glaubwürdige Botschaften zu senden, müssen alle an einem Strang ziehen, alle dieselbe Geschichte erzählen.
  4. Risiken: Reaktionen auf die Botschaft werden kommen. Doch werden sie eher positiv oder negativ sein? Oder entfacht sich direkt eine heiße Diskussion? Im Sinne umfassender Krisenprävention sollten Unternehmen vorab alle möglichen Szenarien analysieren und sich inhaltlich wie strukturell hierauf vorbereiten, um flexibel agieren zu können.
  5. Aktualität: Obwohl alles gut durchdacht und vorbereitet sein sollte, darf auch das Momentum nicht fehlen. Gerade Social Media-Debatten sind schnell Schnee von gestern. Zu heutigen Zeiten erwarten Anspruchsgruppen eine tagesaktuelle Ausrichtung von Kommunikator*innen.

Eines sollte Unternehmen bewusst sein: Wer Brand Activism für das Management der eigenen Unternehmensmarke betreibt, entscheidet sich bewusst dazu, in unruhiges Gewässer zu steuern und hohe Wellen zu schlagen. Dafür braucht es einen funktionierenden Kompass, der sich an den eigenen Unternehmenswerten ausrichtet, um im turbulenten Wellengang zwischen neuen Geschehnissen und Meinungen Kurs zu halten.

So oder so, Kommunikator*innen müssen sich in Zukunft auf immer schwerer zu navigierende Situationen einstellen. Doch die Anstrengungen scheinen lohnenswert – Unternehmen können einen wirklichen Unterschied machen, indem sie Flagge zeigen.

Schreiben Sie uns!

Senden Sie uns gern eine Mail und wir werden uns so schnell wie möglich bei Ihnen melden!

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
de_DEDeutsch
en_GBEnglish (UK) de_DEDeutsch