„Successful in the race against time“

 In Allgemein

Whether a fire in a chemistry plant, product blackmail or a hacker attack – companies are prone to crises at any time. In such exceptional situations it is highly important for communications manager to act much faster nowadays, but at the same time very structured, in order to keep potential damage to the reputation as small as possible. To give your actions a real chance, it is vital to make preparations for crisis situations – early and especially in a reasonable manner.

Following this directive the 12th conference concerning Crisis Communication took place on the 29th and 30th of October at the Quadriga University Berlin. Under the motto "Successful in the race against time” more than 100 communication experts with corporate and advisory background met in order to gain new inspiration concerning crisis communication. We took part with a small team and exchanged our views about the newest development and changes in this area.

This conference did not only consist out of traditional concepts like keynote speeches, best cases or workshops. It also presented a live simulation - a concept which describes crisis communication and prevention in the best way and makes it fully comprehensible to the audience. The basis: ten conference participants in one room, one company, one crisis. In groups of two the participants were assigned to different areas of communication like internal or external communication. They all were asked immediately to handle a fire in a chemistry brand communicationwise – starting with the first tweet containing rumours about the cause of the fire, questions from journalists up to calls by irritated employees - this situation had to be handled quickly.

After one hour of very realistic insights it was obvious to everyone: A well-coordinated team with clear structures and hierarchies is needed to manage a crisis communicatively and delicately. Above all, it was also demonstrated to the participants that crisis prevention does not only need appropriate communication measurements but also needs to keep operational crisis management in mind. Not all the critical situations are to be solved communicatively.

Therefore, ORCA van Loon Communications works hand in hand with the Result Group, one of the internationally leading consultancies for global risk and crisis management. Together they provide integrated crisis prevention and live simulations .

If only because of this simulation, surely many participants will have found this conference worth to be visited. But also many other speeches, as for example one about “Crisis 4.0 – Responsiveness due to digital Crisis Communication” or “How to invest time before the crisis, in order to save time in case of the crisis” have raised awareness for these highly important topics. This clearly shows: Crisis Prevention is indispensable. A fact that clearly still is neglected in many companies. A crisis can happen to anyone at any time.

 

Contact us!

Please send us an e-mail and we will get back to you as soon as possible!

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
en_GBEnglish (UK)
de_DEDeutsch en_GBEnglish (UK)

„Erfolgreich im Wettlauf gegen die Zeit“

 In Allgemein

Ob Brand in der Chemiefabrik, Produkterpressung oder Hackerangriff – Krisen können jedes Unternehmen unvermittelt treffen. In solchen Ausnahmesituationen gilt es für Kommunikationsverantwortliche heute noch schneller, aber gleichzeitig auch geordnet zu handeln, um einen möglichen Reputationsverlust so gering wie möglich zu halten. Doch damit das überhaupt möglich ist, ist es entscheidend, sich frühzeitig – und vor allem angemessen – auf mögliche Krisensituationen vorzubereiten.

Diesem Tenor folgte auch die 12. Tagung Krisenkommunikation, die vom 29.-30. Oktober in der Quadriga Hochschule Berlin stattfand. Unter dem Motto „Erfolgreich im Wettlauf gegen die Zeit“ kamen rund 100 Kommunikationsfachleute von Unternehmens- und Beratungsseite zusammen, um neue Impulse aus der Praxis rund um das Thema Krisenkommunikation zu erhalten. Wir waren mit einem kleinen Team dabei und haben uns über die neuesten Entwicklungen in diesem Bereich ausgetauscht.

Dabei gab es nicht nur klassische Tagungsformate wie Impulsvorträge, Best Cases und Workshops. Sondern auch ein Format, das die Themen Krisenkommunikation und Krisenprävention besonders greifbar gemacht hat: eine Live-Simulation. Zehn Tagungsteilnehmer in einem Raum, ein Unternehmen, eine Krise. Die Teilnehmer wurden in Zweiergruppen verschiedenen Kommunikationsbereichen wie interner oder externer Kommunikation zugeordnet. Und hatten sofort die Aufgabe, einen Brand in einer Chemiefabrik mit kommunikativen Mitteln zu bewältigen. Vom ersten Tweet mit Gerüchten zur Brandursache über Journalistenanfragen bis hin zu aufgeregten Mitarbeiteranrufen – es musste schnell gehandelt werden.

Nach einer Stunde realitätsnaher Einblicke war allen klar: Es braucht ein eingespieltes Team mit klaren Abläufen und Hierarchien, um eine Krise kommunikativ zu meistern. Aber vor allem zeigte sich bei den Teilnehmern eines: Krisenprävention darf nicht nur kommunikativ ansetzen, sondern muss auch das operative Krisenmanagement berücksichtigen. Denn nicht immer können kritische Situationen rein kommunikativ gelöst werden.

Aus diesem Grund bietet ORCA van Loon Communications gemeinsam mit der Result Group, einem der international führenden Beratungsunternehmen für globales Risiko- und Krisenmanagement, integrierte Krisenprävention und Live-Simulationen an.

Allein schon wegen dieser Simulation hat sich die Tagung mit Sicherheit schon für viele Teilnehmer gelohnt. Aber auch die anderen Vorträge zu Themen wie „Krise 4.0 – Reaktionsschnelligkeit durch digitale Krisenkommunikation“ oder „Wie man vor der Krise Zeit investiert, um in der Krise Zeit zu sparen“ haben die Sinne für dieses enorm wichtige Thema geschärft. Und genau das bestätigt, was leider von immer noch viel zu vielen Unternehmen vernachlässigt wird: Krisenprävention ist das A und O. Und eine Krise kann wirklich jeden treffen, zu jeder Zeit.

 

Schreiben Sie uns!

Senden Sie uns gern eine Mail und wir werden uns so schnell wie möglich bei Ihnen melden!

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt