Part 1 of our new series "Next Generation Corporate - Deep Dive CSR"

 

Even if Corona is ruling our lives right now – sustainability remains the topic of the century. No matter if in politics, society or the economy. Sustainability is not just nice to have, it’s a duty. Now and in the future. Of course, this also applies to us as consultants for strategic communication. After all, what topic is suited better for our guiding principle of "Next Generation Corporate" than this one? It calls for genuine rethinking and entirely new ways of acting.

In our series “Deep Dive CSR”, we want to take a look at this interlinked and complex topic from a communications perspective. Piece by piece, in order to continuously give shape to the overall picture being filled with possibilities but also risks. And the first picture we are looking at is a clear fake: Welcome to the world of greenwashing.

But first, let's take one step back: What are we talking about exactly?

Sustainability communications, CR communications, CSR communications. Let's start with what will perhaps make the smallest difference in practice: the term. In this part of the world, the aforementioned options are partly used synonymously. Their original focus on environmental or socioeconomic issues has ceased to exist a long time ago.

So, what is important? Exactly. What we collectively understand by it. And this is where CSR communications is suited best. Corporate Social Responsibility describes the most important facets of our perspective in just three words. First: We look at the companies. Secondly, we look at corporate responsibility. Which, thirdly, goes beyond making a profit.

However, there is one thing that this term cannot do, and probably no other can either: it shows us what issues are at stake. And for this aspect it is worth taking a look at the UN Sustainable Development Goals from 2015,which set out seventeen goals that display how extensive sustainability can be. But they also demonstrate that environmental, species and climate protection are important but only constituent parts of the whole picture. They do not make up the entire picture of social, economic and ecological sustainability.

Greenwashing has many nuances

A large number of studies proves that sustainability is gaining in importance everywhere - concerning society as a whole, consumption and job satisfaction. At the same time, the public debate about the conduct of firms is also becoming increasingly broad and more detailed. Internal and external stakeholders alike are examining CSR measures in particular and are scrutinizing them relentlessly.

In this context, the literal "greenwashing" is the biggest mistake from the point of view of strategic communications: companies communicate that they assume social responsibility, for example, in relation to individual products or the entire corporate strategy. Yet, the actual "acting green" is missing as well as rigorous thought-out actions. Also communicating sustainable management without acting sustainably is and remains a farce for many stakeholders. The effect on a company's reputation becomes clear rather quickly, for example, in the event of a public counter-campaign. The loss of trust among relevant stakeholders is preprogrammed. And this limits the company's own room for maneuvers.

But why do companies do it then? Only to fulfill expectations, attract attention and achieve economic goals. However, greenwashing does not even have to be a shameless lie. Often enough it is a tool for companies to exaggerate irrelevant or insignificant factors, gloss over things, or communicate misleading statements of intent as well as pictures and labels. Even if companies merely use unclear terms like "green" in their communication without explaining them in detail, it is still considered greenwashing. But CSR communications needs quite the opposite: honesty and clarity. Those are the most important.

There are many examples of accusations related to greenwashing: Aldi charging for plastic fruit bags, Deutsche Bahn and the green Bahncard or even H&M's textile recycling campaign. Some more dated accusations show that greenwashing is not a new phenomenon. For example, there are the allegations by Greenpeace against RWE’s energy giant image film from 2009. Or Krombacher’s campaign "Drinking beer for the rainforest", which was launched in 2002 and is still ongoing.

The picture is not only black and white - but it has clear outlines

As much as we wish it was different: The fine line between well-intentionedpublic relations and greenwashing is somehow blurry. Most of the time it is not about blatant lies that are easily refutable. It is rather about the varying degrees with which the truth is being highlighted. In terms of uncalculated greenwashing, it would be naive to think that large-scale campaigns accidentally serve accusations. But still, greenwashing doesn’t always have to be the result of rigorously planned and deliberate choices - at least on a smaller scale. All too often, only lip service is paid when it comes to how complex CSR communication actually is.

Today, a careless choice of words by the top-level executives or simply hasty action without analyzing the facts first is enough to cause related accusations. This risk grows along with the increasing expectations of stakeholders and also with the company's (possibly genuine) aspiration to achieve more sustainability. As so often: Ignorance is no excuse. That is why our series "Next Generation Corporate - Deep Dive CSR" will be discussing what needs to be considered when it comes to good CSR communications. However, we would like to give you three tips on how to prevent greenwashing accusations:

1. Hardly anyone will deny that it is complicated and time-consuming to implement CSR measures: Yet be bold and dare to communicate publicly even small sub-steps instead of attracting attention with exaggerated words.

2. Talk to different experts: Only if the management, the departments and the communications division are willing to jointly discuss the matter from the start your message will be notable and pose fewer risks.

3. Trust external assessments: You want to know what effects your project will have? Then ask uninvolved parties for their opinions and take their feedback seriously.

Contact us!

Please send us an e-mail and we will get back to you as soon as possible!

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
en_GBEnglish (UK)
de_DEDeutsch en_GBEnglish (UK)

Part 1 unserer neuen Reihe „Next Generation Corporate – Deep Dive CSR”

 

Auch wenn Corona gerade unser Leben bestimmt – Nachhaltigkeit ist und bleibt das Jahrhundert-Thema. Egal ob in Politik, Gesellschaft oder Wirtschaft. Es gilt: Nachhaltigkeit ist nicht Nice-to-have, sondern Pflicht. Jetzt und in Zukunft. Das gilt natürlich auch für uns als Beraterinnen und Berater für strategische Kommunikation. Denn zu welchem Thema passt unsere Leitidee „Next Generation Corporate“ besser als zu diesem, das ein echtes Umdenken und gänzlich neues Handeln verlangt.

In unserer Deep Dive-Reihe CSR wollen wir daher dieses verzahnte und komplexe Thema aus kommunikativer Sicht betrachten. Stück für Stück, um dem Gesamtbild an Möglichkeiten und Risiken kontinuierlich Form und Farbe zu geben. Und das erste Bild, das wir aufmalen, ist eine klare Fälschung: Welcome to the world of Greenwashing.

Erstmal einen Schritt zurück: Wovon reden wir überhaupt?

Nachhaltigkeitskommunikation, CR-Kommunikation, CSR-Kommunikation. Beginnen wir zunächst mit dem, was später in der Praxis vielleicht am wenigsten ausmacht: der Bezeichnung. Hierzulande werden die genannten Möglichkeiten zum Teil synonym verwendet. Ihren ursprünglichen Fokus auf Umwelt- oder sozialökonomische Themen gibt es schon längst nicht mehr.

Was ist hier also wichtig? Richtig. Das, was wir gemeinsam darunter verstehen. Und hier eignet sich CSR-Kommunikation am besten. Corporate Social Responsibility benennt in nur drei Worten die drei wichtigsten Facetten unseres Blickwinkels. Erstens: Wir betrachten Unternehmen. Zweitens: Wir betrachten unternehmerische Verantwortung. Und diese geht drittens über die Gewinnerzielung hinaus.

Eines kann dieser kurze Begriff allerdings nicht leisten, und wohl auch kein anderer: Aufzeigen, um welche Themenfelder es geht. Hier lohnt sich ein Blick auf die UN Sustainable Development Goals aus dem Jahr 2015Siebzehn Ziele zeigen auf, wie umfangreich Nachhaltigkeit ist. Aber auch, dass Umwelt-, Arten- und Klimaschutz nur wichtige Ausschnitte zeigen. Und nicht das gesamte Bild sozialer, ökonomischer und ökologischer Nachhaltigkeit.

Greenwashing hat viele Schattierungen

Eine Vielzahl an Studien beweist, dass Nachhaltigkeit überall an Bedeutung gewinnt. In der Gesamtgesellschaft, beim Konsum oder bei unserer Arbeitszufriedenheit. Gleichzeitig wird auch die öffentliche Diskussion über das Verhalten von Unternehmen immer breiter und detaillierter geführt. Interne wie externe Stakeholder hinterfragen insbesondere CSR-Maßnahmen und durchleuchten sie unnachgiebig.

Dabei bezeichnet das wortwörtliche „Grün waschen“ den größten Fehler aus Sicht strategischer Kommunikation: Unternehmen kommunizieren, gesellschaftliche Verantwortung zu übernehmen. Sei es bei einzelnen Produkten oder der gesamten Unternehmensstrategie. Doch was fehlt, ist „grünes Handeln“. Wirkliche, stringent durchdachte Taten bleiben aus. Nachhaltiges Wirtschaften zu kommunizieren ohne auch nachhaltig zu handeln, ist und bleibt für viele Stakeholder eine Farce. Wie sich das etwa im Falle einer öffentlichen Gegenkampagne auf die Reputation von Unternehmen auswirkt, wird schnell klar. Der Vertrauensverlust bei relevanten Anspruchsgruppen ist vorprogrammiert. Und damit der eigene unternehmerische Handlungsspielraum eingeschränkt.

Doch warum tun Unternehmen es dann? Einzig um Erwartungen zu erfüllen, Aufmerksamkeit zu erhaschen und ökonomische Ziele zu erreichen. Dabei muss Greenwashing allerdings nicht einmal eine schamlose Lüge sein. Oft genügt es schon, wenn Unternehmen irrelevante oder bedeutungsschwache Faktoren aufbauschen, Dinge beschönigen oder irreführende Absichtserklärungen sowie Bilder und Labels kommunizieren. Selbst wenn Corporates nur unklare Begriffe wie „grün“ in ihrer Kommunikation nutzen, ohne diese konkret zu erklären, handelt es sich um Greenwashing. Doch in der CSR-Kommunikation braucht es das Gegenteil: Ehrlichkeit und Klarheit sind Trumpf.

Beispiele von entsprechenden Vorwürfen gibt es viele: Gegen Aldi wegen kostenpflichtiger Obstbeutel aus Plastik, gegen die Deutsche Bahn wegen der grünen Bahncard oder auch gegen H&Ms Textilrecycling. Weiter zurückliegende Beschuldigungen zeigen, dass Greenwashing kein neues Phänomen ist. Zum Beispiel von Greenpeace gegenüber RWEs Energieriese-Imagefilm aus dem Jahr 2009. Oder die Krombacher-Kampagne „Biertrinken für den Regenwald“, die 2002 gestartet ist und noch immer läuft.

Das Bild gibt es nicht in schwarz-weiß – aber es hat klare Abgrenzungen

Doch auch wenn wir es uns wünschen: Die Grenze zwischen gut gemeinter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Greenwashing lässt sich nicht immer trennscharf ziehen. Meist geht es eben nicht um klar widerlegbare Lügen. Sondern es geht darum, die Wahrheit unterschiedlich stark oder schwach zu betonen. Im Sinne ungeplanten Greenwashings wäre es nun naiv zu denken, dass groß angelegte Kampagnen Vorwürfe aus Versehen bedienen. Aber dennoch muss Greenwashing nicht immer das Ergebnis von stringent geplanten und abgewogenen Entscheidungen sein – zumindest im kleineren Stil. Nur allzu oft liegen Lippenbekenntnisse in der Unwissenheit darüber, wie komplex CSR-Kommunikation ist.

Für entsprechende Vorwürfe reicht heute schon eine unbedachte Wortwahl des C-Levels oder schlichtes überstürztes Handeln, ohne die Tatsache vorher vernünftig zu analysieren. Dieses Risiko wächst mit zunehmenden Stakeholder-Erwartungen und auch dem (möglicherweise echten) Bestreben eines Unternehmens nach Nachhaltigkeit. Wie so oft gilt aber auch hier: Unwissenheit schützt vor Strafe nicht. Was es bei guter CSR-Kommunikation zu beachten gibt, diskutiert daher künftig unsere Reihe „Next Generation Corporate – Deep Dive CSR“. Aber schon jetzt möchten wir drei Tipps mit auf dem Weg geben, wie sich Greenwashing-Vorwürfen vorbeugen lässt:

1. Kaum jemand wird bestreiten, dass es kompliziert und zeitintensiv ist, CSR-Maßnahmen umzusetzen: Trauen Sie sich, auch kleine Teilschritte transparent zu kommunizieren, anstatt durch übergroße Worte aufzufallen.

2. Setzen Sie verschiedene Experten an einen Tisch: Nur wenn Management, Fachbereiche und auch die Kommunikationsabteilung von Anfang an zusammensitzen, hat Ihre Botschaft Substanz und weniger Risiken.

3. Vertrauen Sie auf eine externe Einschätzung: Sie wollen wissen, wie Ihr Vorhaben wirken wird? Dann fragen Sie bei weitgehend Unbeteiligten nach und nehmen Sie deren Feedback ernst.

Schreiben Sie uns!

Senden Sie uns gern eine Mail und wir werden uns so schnell wie möglich bei Ihnen melden!

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
de_DEDeutsch
en_GBEnglish (UK) de_DEDeutsch