Initial Situation

Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania is confronted with a negative demographic trend and a growing migration of well-educated young people. In order to support this center of education, we participated in developing a long-term public relations strategy starting 2008: “Studying at the Sea”. Planned for four years, this has been the first campagne for a higher education institution in one of Germany’s states. In 2012 the “MINT” campagne followed.

Task

It was our goal to make prospective students enthusiastic about Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania and its (MINT) course of studies. Also, we wanted to change the image of the state to make it more interesting in the eyes of the younger generation – less boring and conservative but rather modern. A center of education, which provides highquality studies in various fields, while living in one of Germany’s most favoured touristic regions.

Idea and Realisation

In this case a broad media awareness was not so much important to us, but rather a direct and distinct approach of our target group. Therefore, in both cases we used a well defined mix of owned, earned and paid media to reach our target goup. We developed a beach chair visual, landing pages, magazines, and out-of-home campagnes. We also visited exhibitions and roadshows in order to introduce and spread our campagnes. In addition, we also used student testimonials for our blog and in social media – complemented by search engines and social media marketing.

Result

As a result, we were able to increase significantly the registration figures by several percent at all education centers in the state. We also generated higher freshmen registrations coming from Western Germany: 17% in 2008 to 46% in 2011 – and even further: 60% in 2014. At the same time we noted a striking image transformation, a higher attractiveness of the state and a positive perception in the general public.


Winner International German PR Award 2011, category „Associations and Public Institutions“

Finalist PR Report Awards 2011, category “Longterm PR-Strategy”

Gewinner EMEA Sabre Award 2012, category „Educational and Cultural Institutions“

 

Related Projects
  • Wadan Yards
    Wadan Yards
    Change Communication Internal Communication Crisis Communication
  • Voith
    Voith
    CEO Positioning & Consulting Internal Communication Crisis Communication Crisis Prevention
  • Veolia
    Veolia
    Agenda Setting CEO Positioning & Consulting Change Communication Internal Communication Media Relations
  • TOM TAILOR Group
    TOM TAILOR Group
    Agenda Setting CEO Positioning & Consulting Change Communication Digital & Social Media Internal Communication Media Relations
Contact us!

Please send us an e-mail and we will get back to you as soon as possible!

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt
en_GBEnglish (UK)
de_DEDeutsch en_GBEnglish (UK)

Ausgangslage

Die negative demografische Entwicklung und zunehmende Abwanderung gut ausgebildeter Jugendlicher stellen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern vor enorme Herausforderungen. Um den Bildungsstandort zu sichern, waren wir daher ab 2008 an der Entwicklung einer langfristigen PR-Strategie beteiligt: der Kampagne „Studieren mit Meerwert“. Auf vier Jahre geplant, war sie die erste Hochschulmarketingkampagne eines deutschen Bundeslandes – 2012 folge die „MINT“-Kampagne.

Aufgabe

Aufgabe der Kampagnen war es, Studieninteressierte für Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und seine (MINT)-Studiengänge zu begeistern und das Image des Landes bei jungen Westdeutschen zu verbessern. Mecklenburg-Vorpommern sollte dabei nicht mehr als dröge und ostdeutsch wahrgenommen werden – sondern als moderner Standort, der ein hochwertiges Studium bietet. Und das auch noch in einer der beliebtesten Urlaubregionen Deutschlands.

Idee und Umsetzung

Wichtig war uns nicht breite Medienresonanz, sondern direkte Zielgruppenansprache. Daher nutzten wir für beide Kampagnen einen zielgruppenspezifischen Mix aus Owned, Earned und Paid Media. Wir inszenierten das Strandkorb-Visual, entwickelten Landing-Pages, Magazine und Out-of-Home-Kampagnen und waren auf Messen und Roadshows. Und wir nutzten studentische Testimonials auf einem Kampagnenblog und in Social Media – ergänzt durch Suchmaschinen- und Social Media-Marketing.

Ergebnis

Steigerung der Zulassungszahlen um mehrere Prozentpunkte an sämtlichen Hochschulen im Bundesland. Und höhere Erstsemester-Anteile aus Westdeutschland: von 17% im Jahr 2008 auf 46% in 2011 – und sogar auf 60% im Jahr 2014. Gleichzeitig zeigten Zielgruppenbefragungen einen positiven Imagewandel, eine höhere Attraktivität des Bundeslandes und mehr positive Assoziationen in der breiten Öffentlichkeit.


Gewinner Internationaler Deutscher PR Preis 2011, Kategorie „Verbände und öffentliche Institutionen“

Finalist PR Report Awards 2011, Kategorie “Langfristige PR-Strategie”

Gewinner EMEA Sabre Award 2012, Kategorie „Educational and Cultural Institutions“

 

Related Projects
  • Wadan Yards
    Wadan Yards
    Change-Kommunikation Interne Kommunikation Krisenkommunikation
  • Voith
    Voith
    CEO Positionierung & Beratung Interne Kommunikation Krisenkommunikation Krisenprävention
  • Veolia
    Veolia
    Agenda Setting CEO Positionierung & Beratung Change-Kommunikation Interne Kommunikation Media Relations
  • TOM TAILOR Group
    TOM TAILOR Group
    Agenda Setting CEO Positionierung & Beratung Change-Kommunikation Digital & Social Media Interne Kommunikation Media Relations
Schreiben Sie uns!

Senden Sie uns gern eine Mail und wir werden uns so schnell wie möglich bei Ihnen melden!

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt